The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Colorado
Primary: Tuesday, August 8, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:8(1.49% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:6(1.38% of 435)
1990 Census: 3,294,473(1.32% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,099,364
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 2,961,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7 PM MST (0200 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
American Constitution:1
Natural Law:1
Socialist Workers:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Colorado Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 8, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,741,368; List of States: Short, Long

 WinnerRepublican883,748 50.75% Governor George W. Bush
(8 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat738,227 42.39% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateLibertarian 12,799 0.73% Harry Browne
 CandidateNatural Law 2,240 0.13% John Hagelin
 CandidateGreen 91,434 5.25% Ralph Nader
 CandidateAmerican Constitution 1,319 0.08% Howard Phillips
 CandidateFreedom 10,465 0.60% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateProhibition208 0.01% Earl F. Dodge
Vice Presidential Running mate: W. Dean Watkins
 CandidateSocialist Workers216 0.01% James E. Harris, Jr.
 CandidateSocialist712 0.04% David McReynolds
Running under the banner of "Socialist Party USA"

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Republican  Bill Owens
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Wayne Allard
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Ben Nighthorse Campbell
First elected as a Democrat: 1992; Changed Party affiliation to Republican: 3 March 1995; re-elected as a Republican: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats
4 Republicans

CD 1Democrat  Diana DeGette
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Richard Combs
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Diana DeGette
 CandidateReform  Lyle Nassar
 CandidateRepublican  Jesse Thomas

CD 2Democrat  Mark Udall
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  David Michael Baker
 CandidateRepublican  Carolyn Cox
 CandidateGreen  Ron Forthofer
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Mark Udall

CD 3Republican  Scott McInnis
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateReform  Victor Good
 CandidateDemocrat  Curtis Imrie
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Scott McInnis
 CandidateLibertarian  Drew Sakson

CD 4Republican  Bob Schaffer
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Kordon L. Baker
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Bob Schaffer

CD 5Republican  Joel Hefley
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Joel Hefley
 CandidateLibertarian  Kerry Kantor

CD 6Republican  Tom Tancredo
Renominated - 8 August 2000 Primary
 CandidateReform  Brant Barger
 CandidateLibertarian  Adam Katz
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Tom Tancredo
 CandidateDemocrat  Kenneth A. Toltz

Congressional District

Colorado has 63 counties and 6 congressional districts: 58 of these counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 5 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (those wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD # 1: Denver (which is coterminous with the City of Denver)
  • CD # 2: Boulder, Clear Creek and Gilpin
  • CD # 3: Alamosa, Archuleta, Chaffee, Conejos, Costilla, Custer, Delta, Dolores, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Huerfano, Jackson, Lake, La Plata, Mesa, Mineral, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Pueblo, Rio Blanco, Rio Grande, Routt, Saguache, San Juan, San Miguel and Summit.
  • CD # 4: Baca, Bent, Cheyenne, Crowley, Elbert, Kiowa, Kit Carson, Larimer, Las Animas, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Phillips, Prowers, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld and Yuma.
  • CD # 5: El Paso and Teller.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (those split between one or more Congressional Districts):

  • Adams: CDs 1, 2 and 4
  • Arapahoe: CDs 1, 4, 5 and 6
  • Douglas: CDs 3 and 5
  • Fremont: CDs 3 and 5
  • Jefferson: CDs 1, 2, 3 and 6