The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Arkansas
Primary (subject to runoff): Tuesday, May 23, 2000
Runoff: Tuesday, June 13, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:6(1.12% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:4(0.92% of 435)
1990 Census: 2,350,624(0.94% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 1,412,617
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 1,882,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7:30 PM CST (0130 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Natural Law:1
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Arkansas Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 6, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 921,781; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateLibertarian 2,781 0.30% Harry Browne
 CandidateReform 7,358 0.80% Pat Buchanan
 WinnerRepublican472,940 51.31% Governor George W. Bush
(6 Electoral Votes)
 CandidateDemocrat422,768 45.86% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateNatural Law 1,098 0.12% John Hagelin
 CandidateGreen 13,421 1.46% Ralph Nader
Listed as "Green Party of Arkansas"
 CandidateConstitution 1,415 0.15% Howard Phillips

Governor  Term limit: No one can serve more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime, Current Governors  

 Republican  Mike Huckabee
As Lieutenant Governor, succeeded to the office upon the resignation of Governor Jim Guy Tucker (Democrat): 15 July 1996; first elected to a full term: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Tim Hutchinson
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Democrat  Blanche Lambert Lincoln
First elected: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats
2 Republicans

CD 1Democrat  Marion Berry
Renominated - 2000 May 23 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Marion Berry
 CandidateIndependent  George Moody
 CandidateRepublican  Susan Myshka

CD 2Democrat  Vic Snyder
Renominated - 2000 May 23 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Vic Snyder
 CandidateRepublican  Bob Thomas

CD 3Republican  Asa Hutchinson
Renominated - 2000 May 23 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  James Ackerman
write-in campaign
 WinnerRepublican  Asa Hutchinson

CD 4Republican  Jay Dickey
Renominated - 2000 May 23 Primary
 CandidateRepublican  Congressman Jay Dickey
 WinnerDemocrat  Mike Ross

Congressional District

Arkansas has 75 counties and 4 congressional districts: all 75 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; no county is divided among more than one congressional district.

  • CD 1: Arkansas, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Lee, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Phillips, Poinsett, Prairie, Randolph, St. Francis, Searcy, Sharp, Stone and Woodruff.
  • CD 2: Conway, Faulkner, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, White and Yell.
  • CD 3: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Pope, Scott, Sebastian and Washington.
  • CD 4: Ashby, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouchita, Pike, Sevier and Union.