The Green Papers: General Election 2000

Copyright Alabama
Primary (subject to runoff): Tuesday, June 6, 2000
Runoff (no runoffs for offices listed on this site): Tuesday, June 27, 2000
2000 Electoral Votes:9(1.67% of 538)
Governor:1(Term Limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms)
Senators:2(Electoral Classes 2 and 3)
2000 Representatives:7(1.61% of 435)
1990 Census: 4,040,389(1.62% of 248,765,170)
Registered Voters (Nov 98): 2,316,598
Estimated Voting age population (Jan 98): 3,293,000 
Tuesday, November 7, 2000 Polls Close: 7 PM CST (0100 UTC)
Candidates seeking office
Last modified
States Alphabetically    States Chronologically    Alabama Links
  President (short)    President (long)    Governors    Senate    House  

President  Electoral votes: 9, Term limit: No more than 2 4-year terms in a lifetime; Electors: How Appointed, Meeting Place, How they voted; Total Popular Vote: 1,666,272; List of States: Short, Long

 CandidateIndependent 6,351 0.38% Pat Buchanan
 CandidateIndependent447 0.03% John Hagelin
 CandidateIndependent 18,323 1.10% Ralph Nader
Endorsements: Green.
 CandidateLibertarian 5,893 0.35% Harry Browne
 CandidateDemocrat692,611 41.57% Vice President Albert A. "Al" Gore, Jr.
 CandidateIndependent775 0.05% Howard Phillips
 WinnerRepublican941,173 56.48% Governor George W. Bush
(9 Electoral Votes)
 Candidate(scatter)699 0.04% Write-ins

Governor  Term limit: 2 consecutive 4-year terms, Current Governors  

 Democrat  Don Siegelman
First elected: 1998
Chair up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002. (The current Governor is NOT affected by this state's term limit).

Senate  6-year term, Current Senate  Senate Electoral Classes

Class 2Republican  Jeff Sessions
First elected: 1996
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 5, 2002.

Class 3Republican  Richard Shelby
First elected as a Democrat: 1986; re-elected: 1992; Changed Party affiliation to Republican: 9 November 1994; re-elected as a Republican: 1998
Seat up for election: Tuesday, November 2, 2004.

House of Representatives  2 year term, Current House  
2 Democrats
5 Republicans

CD 1Republican  H.L. "Sonny" Callahan
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman H.L. "Sonny" Callahan
 (no candidate from any other party listed; Congressman Callahan will apparently run unopposed)

CD 2Republican  Terry Everett
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Terry Everett
 CandidateDemocrat  Charles Woods

CD 3Republican  Bob Riley
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Bob Riley
 (no candidate from any other party listed; Congressman Riley will apparently run unopposed)

CD 4Republican  Robert Aderholt
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Robert Aderholt
 CandidateDemocrat  Marsha Guthrie Folsom

CD 5Democrat  Bud Cramer
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 CandidateLibertarian  Alan Barksdale
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Bud Cramer

CD 6Republican  Spencer Bachus
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerRepublican  Congressman Spencer Bachus
 CandidateLibertarian  Terry Reagin

CD 7Democrat  Earl F. Hilliard
Renominated - 6 June 2000 Primary
 WinnerDemocrat  Congressman Earl Hilliard
 CandidateRepublican  Ed Martin

Congressional District

Alabama has 67 counties and 7 congressional districts: 60 counties are wholly within a given congressional district; 7 counties are divided among more than one congressional district.

UNDIVIDED COUNTIES (wholly within one Congressional District):

  • CD 1: Baldwin, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe and Washington.
  • CD 2: Autauga, Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Elmore, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike.
  • CD 3: Calhoun, Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Lee, Mason, Randolph, Russell, St. Clair, Talladega and Tallapoosa.
  • CD 4: Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Lamar, Marion, Marshall, Walker and Winston.
  • CD 5: Colbert, Jackson, Lauderdale, Limestone, Madison and Morgan.
  • CD 6: Shelby.
  • CD 7: Choctaw, Dallas, Greene, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Perry, Sumter and Wilcox.

DIVIDED COUNTIES (split between more than one Congressional District):

  • Bibb: CDs 3 and 6
  • Clarke: CDs 1 and 7
  • Jefferson: CDs 6 and 7
  • Lawrence: CDs 4 and 5
  • Montgomery: CDs 2 and 7
  • Pickens: CDs 4 and 7
  • Tuscaloosa: CDs 6 and 7