Footnotes for the Sessions of the
74th Congress, 1935-1937

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
1stodd3 January 193526 August 1935PittmanByrns, Joseph W.
(Dem.- Tennessee)
2ndeven3 January 193620 June 1936PittmanByrns;
Bankhead, William B.
(Dem.- Alabama)

House Speaker Joseph W. Byrns died on 4 June 1936; Congressman Bankhead was elected to succeed him on the same day.



"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership