Footnotes for the Sessions of the
101st Congress, 1989-1991

session type convened adjourned President pro Tempore
of the Senate
Speaker of the House
of Representatives
1stodd3 January 198922 November 1989Byrd, Robert C.
(Dem.- West Virginia)
Wright ;
Foley, Thomas S.
(Dem.- Washington)

House Speaker James C. Wright resigned that office on 6 June 1989; Congressman Foley was elected Speaker by the House that same day.

2ndeven23 January 199028 October 1990ByrdFoley


"Regular" Sessions of Congress
"Regular" Sessions prior to the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Regular" Sessions after the adoption of the 20th Amendment (1933)
"Extra" Sessions
"Special SENATE" Sessions

Related information:
Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States
A Brief History of Congressional Leadership