The Green Papers: Election 2000 
Democratic PartyRhode Island Democrat
Primary: Tuesday, March 7, 2000
Popular VoteDelegate Votes
Floor VoteHard Total
Gore, Al  26,801  57%   33.  100%   13.   39%
Bradley, Bill  19,000  41%          9.   27%
Uncommitted  844   2%         11.   33%
LaRouche, Lyndon  199   0%            
Total  46,844 100%   33.  100%   33.  100%
Voter Eligibility: Modified Open Primary, Polls Close at 9 PM EST (0200 UTC)
Delegate Selection: Proportional Primary

33 total delegate votes - 14 district / 5 at-large; 3 Pledged PLEOs; 10 Unpledged PLEOs; 1 Unpledged add-on

Last modified Tuesday, December 26, 2000
States Chronologically    States Alphabetically    Democrat Convention    Rhode Island Republican    Rhode Island Links

18 March 2000: Unpledged delegate preference update: Gore 10, Bradley 0. Unpledged delegates appear in the "Soft Unpledged" field.

Bill Bradley, having withdrawn from the campaign, is no longer entitled to receive At-Large and unpledged PLEO delegates (rule 9.C). The 2 At-Large and 1 unpledged PLEO delegates originally assigned to Bradley have been reassigned to Gore in our "Soft Pledged". The "Hard Total" however, shows the delegates as originally assigned.

The Popular Vote above is based on unofficial returns from the 7 March Primary.

Here's how we compute the delegate count:
  1. A candidate must receive 15% or more of the total popular vote to qualify for delegates. Discard those votes cast for candidates who do not qualify.
  2. Allocate Congressional District delegates from the qualified vote in each district. Allocate Pledged PLEO and At-Large delegates using the statewide qualified vote.
  3. In each jurisdiction:
    1. Total qualified vote = total votes cast for the qualifying candidates in the jurisdiction.
    2. Allocation = (delegates for the jurisdiction) × (candidate's popular vote) ÷ (total qualified vote).
    3. Assign each candidate the WHOLE NUMBER of delegates.
    4. If delegates remain, allocate each of the remaining delegates to those candidates with the LARGEST REMAINDERS.
Delegates 22  13  9

Tuesday 7 March 2000: 22 of 33 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are allocated to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Rhode Island Presidential Primary.

  • "14 district delegates are to be allocated proportionally to presidential contenders based on the primary results in each of the State's 2 congressional districts. In addition, 5 at-large National Convention delegates plus 3 Pledged PLEOs are to be allocated to presidential contenders based on the primary vote statewide. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be allocated National Convention delegates at either the congressional district or statewide level."

The remaining 11 National Convention delegates consist of 10 Unpledged PLEOs and 1 Unpledged "add-on"; these 11 delegates will go to the Democratic National Convention officially "Unpledged".

"The breakdown of Unpledged Party Leader and Elected Official delegates to the Democratic National Convention below is somewhat different from that provided by the Democratic Party: the reason for this is that the one or more of its Members of Congress are also members of the Democratic National Committee and are considered to be DNC members (i.e. "Party Leaders") rather than Democratic office holders (i.e. "Elected Officials") by the Party. However, it is the opinion of "The Green Papers" that the average voter/citizen or other interested party who accesses this website would more readily identify Party Leaders who are also Elected Officials by their political office rather than their status as members of the DNC and we, therefore, count them as Elected Officials rather than as Party Leaders in the following breakdown:"

  • 7 Democratic National Committee members
  • 3 Members of Congress (1 Senator, 2 Representatives)
  • 1 add-on

Rhode Island has 5 Counties and 2 Congressional Districts; 4 counties are wholly within a congressional and only one county is split between the two congressional districts.

  • CD # 1: Bristol and Newport Counties in their entirety plus the Towns or Cities of Burrillville, Central Falls, Cumberland, East Providence, Lincoln, North Providence, North Smithfield, Pawtucket, Smithfield and Woonsocket in Providence County.
  • CD # 2: Kent and Washington Counties in their entirety plus the Towns or Cities of Cranston, Foster, Glocester, Johnston and Scituate in Providence County.

The City of Providence (part of Providence County) is divided between CDs 1 and 2.

© Copyright 2000
Richard E. Berg-Andersson, Research and Commentary, E-Mail:
Tony Roza, Webmaster, E-Mail: