The Green Papers
2012 Presidential Primaries, Caucuses, and Conventions
Copyright Virgin Islands Democrat
Presidential Nominating Process
Territorial Convention: Saturday 2 June - Sunday 3 June 20121
Delegate Votes
Hard TotalFloor Vote
Obama, Barack Hussein  12.0  92.31%
Uncommitted 6.0  46.15% 
(available) 7.0  53.85% 
Not Announced  1.0   7.69%
Total 13.0 100.00%13.0 100.00%

States Chronologically   States Alphabetically     Democratic Convention     Virgin Islands Republican    
Virgin Islands Primaries for Statewide offices and Congress
Virgin Islands State and Local Government


The delegate selection processes herein, was updated on 1 February 2012.

Starting on Tuesday 20 March 2012, a 15% pledged delegate bonus is awarded when clusters of 3 or more neighboring states begin on the same date. American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are considered neighboring states of each other. [Reg 5.1.C Article I.C.2.b]


Saturday 2 June - Sunday 3 June 2012: 7 of 13 delegates to the Democratic National Convention are pledged to presidential contenders based on the results of the voting in today's Virgin Islands Territorial Convention. A mandatory 15 percent threshold is required in order for a presidential contender to be pledged National Convention delegates.

  • 7 At-Large delegates are to be pledged proportionally to presidential contenders based on the Caucus results in each of the Island's "districts".
    • St. Thomas/St John: 3 delegates
    • St. Croix: 4 delegates

The 6 "Unpledged" votes are cast by:

  • This territory's Democratic Member of Congress (=a non-voting Delegate in the House of Representatives): territorial Delegate Donna M. Christensen.
  • This territory's Democratic Governor: territorial Governor John P. deJongh, Jr..
  • This territory's 4 Democratic National Committee members: State Chair, State Vice Chair, National Committee Man, and National Committee Woman.

The delegates and the 3 Convention Standing Committees, Delegation Chair and pages are elected on 3 June 2012.

Delegates to the 2012 Democratic National Convention

  • District of St. Croix
    • Florine M. Audain Hassell
    • Carolyn M. Burke
    • Robert Rios
    • Dean R. Andrews
  • District of St. Thomas/St. John
    • Pamela R. Samuel
    • Collette Monroe
    • Edgar Baker Phillips
  • Superdelegates
    • Governor John de Jongh
    • State Chair Emmett Hansen
    • State Vice Chair Delores Thomas
    • Delegate Donna Christensen
    • National Committeeman Glen Smith
    • National Committeewoman Carol Burke


On 22 October 2011 the District Meeting failed to convene because there was no quorum. The meeting has been rescheduled for Saturday 12 November 2012 at 10:00am. At that time, discussions will continue regarding the selection of National Convention delegates and the 2012 primary.

Delegation to the National Convention

Virgin Islands Delegation (as posted at, 20 August 2012)

Dean R AndrewsChristiansted
Florine Audain-HassellF'sted
Carolyn M BurkeSt. Croix
Carol M BurkeSt. Croix
Donna M Christian-ChristensenWashington
Colette Conroy MonroeSt. Thomas
Emmett Hansen IISt. Croix
Emile A Henderson IIIFrederiksted
Edgar PhillipsSt. Thomas
Robert RiosSt. Croix
Pamela R SamuelSt. John
Glen T SmithSt. Thomas
Delores ThomasSt. Thomas
Fernando R Webster Jr.St. Croix

Links Links to other web sites

Election Authority
  Election System of the Virgin Islands
  Elections System of the Virgin Islands - facebook
  VI Elections System - twitter
Legislature   Links to State Legislatures
  Legislature of the Virgin Islands
  US Code - Virgin Islands Cornell University Law School - Legal Information Institute
  Virgin Islands Code Unannotated LexisNexis
  Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands (yahoo groups)
  U.S. Virgin Islands Democratic Party (
  US Virgin Islands Democratic Party ( Appears to be mostly unused.
Media & others - Virgin Islands
  St. Croix Source
  St. John Source
  St. John Tradewinds
  St. Thomas Source
  The Virgin Islands Consortium
  The Virgin Islands Daily News
  WSTA AM - St. Thomas
  WTJX TV - Virgin Islands Public Television

1 Democratic Party's "First Determining Step" of the delegate selection process.


  Election 2012 - Presidential Primary, Caucus, and Convention Home  
  Presidential Candidates  
Rule Making and Process
  30 December 2009 - Democratic Change Commission's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  20 August 2010 - Democratic National Committee approves 2012 Call To Convention and Delegate Selection Rules  
  6 August 2010 - Republican Temporary Delegate Selection Committee's Recommendations for the 2012 Presidential Nominating Process  
  States Alphabetically  
  Events Chronologically  
  Major Events Chronologically  
  Democratic "First Determining Step" Chronologically  
  Chronological Cumulative Allocation of Delegates  
  Weekly Delegate Distribution and Availability  
  Democratic Pledged and Unpledged Summary   --   Republican Pledged and Unpledged Summary  
  Democratic Hard and Floor Summary   --   Republican Hard and Floor Summary  
Delegate Allocation
  Democratic Quick Reference   --   Republican Quick Reference  
  Democratic Detailed Delegate Allocation   --   Republican Detailed Delegate Allocation  
  Democratic Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility   --   Republican Delegate Selection and Voter Eligibility  
  Primaries at a Glance  
  Historical Analysis of the Presidential Nominating Process  
  Historical Analysis of the apportionment of delegate votes at the National Conventions of the two major parties  
  Primary/Caucus/Convention Glossary  
  Statutory Election Information of the Several states / Presidential Primary  
  Dates of PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARIES re: selection and/or allocation/distribution of Delegates to Major Party National Conventions  
  Major Third Party (Constitution, Green, Libertarian) Presidential Nomination Process  
  Straw Polls