The Green Papers: 2021 General Election
Copyright 117th Congress
Senate Seats by State

This is a list of the current Senate seats and the incumbents occupying them. Not counting special elections, 33 Senate Seats are up for election on 8 November 2022.

There have been 0 deaths, 1 resignation, and 0 changes re: party breakdown in the 117th Senate.

  • Senator Alex Padilla (Democratic, California Class 3) was appointed on 22 December 2020 by Governor Gavin Newsom (Democratic). He will fill the seat of Senator Kamala D. Harris who has been elected to the office of Vice President. Senator Padilla was sworn on 20 January 2021.
  • Senator Kamala D. Harris (Democratic, California Class 3) resigned on 18 January 2021 to take the office of Vice President of the United States.
  • Senator Raphael Warnock (Democratic, Georgia, Class 3) was elected in a 5 January 2021 Special Election. He replaces appointed Senator Kelly Loeffler (Republican) and was sworn on 20 January 2021.
  • Senator T. Jonathan "Jon" Ossoff (Democratic, Georgia, Class 2) was elected in a 5 January 2021 runoff election was sworn on 20 January 2021.

  Alabama    Alaska    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    Florida    Georgia    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

Legislative Links     Senate Electoral Classes


Vermont  6-year term. No Term Limit. Senate Electoral Classes
Partisan Composition: 1 Independent, 1 Democratic

Class 3 Democratic Senator Patrick J. Leahy
First elected: 1974; re-elected: 1980, 1986, 1992, 1998, 2004, 2010, 2016.
Seat up for regular election: Tuesday 8 November 2022
Open Seat - 15 November 2021: Senator Leahy will not seek re-election.

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties
  Democratic-Farmer Labor
Major Third Parties
Other Third Parties
  Alaskan Independence
  Alliance Party
  American Independent
  United Party
  Veterans Party of America
  No Party Affiliation
  No Party Preference
  No Political Party
  Non Affiliated
Write-in/Scattered/otherwise not readily classifiable
  Not readily classifiable


  2021 General Election Home  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
2021 Primaries and Runoffs for Statewide offices/Congress
  Alphabetically   --   Alphabetically with Filing Deadlines  
  Chronologically   --   Chronologically with Filing Deadlines  
  Poll Closing Times (with time zones)  
General Election Poll Closing Times (with time zones)
  Alphabetically   --   Chronologically  
Poll Closing Times (list)
  All Elections     Primary/Special Elections     General Elections  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2021 Partisan Composition by State  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Comparative Political Party Predominance in each State, 2000 thru 2016  
  Political Party Floor Leaders in the Congress of the United States  
  Dates of DIRECT PRIMARY Elections re: Major Party Nominations for Statewide and/or Federal Office  
  Length of Terms of Office of STATE Governors throughout American History