The Green Papers
2007 Poll Closing Times
for Statewide offices and Congress
Alphabetically

Chronologically
Alphabetically

 
Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htm UTC Eastern Central Mountain Pacific Alaska Hawaii
Tuesday 21 August 2007
California0300
UTC
10:00p
EST
9:00p
CST
8:00p
MST
7:00p
PST
6:00p
AKST
5:00p
ALST
5:00p
HIST
Tuesday 17 July 2007
Georgia2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Tuesday 26 June 2007
Kentucky (cancelled) (EDT) *A2200
UTC
5:00p
EST
4:00p
CST
3:00p
MST
2:00p
PST
1:00p
AKST
12:00p
ALST
12:00p
HIST
Tuesday 6 November 2007
Kentucky (EST) *A2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Tuesday 26 June 2007
Kentucky (cancelled) (CDT) *A2300
UTC
6:00p
EST
5:00p
CST
4:00p
MST
3:00p
PST
2:00p
AKST
1:00p
ALST
1:00p
HIST
Tuesday 6 November 2007
Kentucky (CST) *A0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Saturday 20 October 2007
Louisiana0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Saturday 17 November 2007
Louisiana0200
UTC
9:00p
EST
8:00p
CST
7:00p
MST
6:00p
PST
5:00p
AKST
4:00p
ALST
4:00p
HIST
Tuesday 16 October 2007
Massachusetts *S0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Tuesday 28 August 2007
Mississippi0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
Tuesday 6 November 2007
Mississippi0100
UTC
8:00p
EST
7:00p
CST
6:00p
MST
5:00p
PST
4:00p
AKST
3:00p
ALST
3:00p
HIST
Tuesday 11 December 2007
Ohio0030
UTC
7:30p
EST
6:30p
CST
5:30p
MST
4:30p
PST
3:30p
AKST
2:30p
ALST
2:30p
HIST
Virginia0000
UTC
7:00p
EST
6:00p
CST
5:00p
MST
4:00p
PST
3:00p
AKST
2:00p
ALST
2:00p
HIST
No activity
Alabama
Alaska
American Samoa
Arizona
Arkansas
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Guam
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Maine
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Northern Marianas
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virgin Islands
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming
(no activity)
 
 

Notes

Polling places in states that span multiple time zones will close either synchronously or asynchronously.

  • (Note *S) With synchronized closing, all the polls close at the same GMT/UTC time. When polls close in the advanced local time zone, they will close one hour earlier in the lagging local time zone.
  • (Note *A) With asynchronous closing, the polls close at different GMT/UTC times in different parts of the state. Media outlets might decide to declare a winner before all the polls have closed.

Kentucky: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EDT (2200 UTC) / 6:00p CDT (2300 UTC). Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in CDT [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 PM EDT and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. CDT voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 PM EDT.

Kentucky: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EDT (2200 UTC) / 6:00p CDT (2300 UTC).

Kentucky: Polls close asynchronously at 6:00p EST (2300 UTC) / 6:00p CST (0000 UTC). Poll closing time could be rather problematic in KENTUCKY. A large chunk of the state is in CST [but the networks consider that "most of the polls have closed" in KENTUCKY by 6 PM EST and so, if they can, project at the same time they project INDIANA]. CST voters in KENTUCKY may note the networks' willingness/eagerness to project a winner as early as 6 PM EST.

Massachusetts: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EDT (0000 UTC). By local option, municipalities may open their polls as early as 5:45 a.m.

Massachusetts: Polls close synchronously at 8:00p EDT (0000 UTC). By local option, municipalities may open their polls as early as 5:45 a.m.

 
 

Time zone abbreviations


UCT: Universal Coordinated Time, Greenwich England
EST: Eastern Standard Time, UCT - 5 hours
EDT: Eastern Daylight Time, UCT - 4 hours
CST: Central Standard Time, UCT - 6 hours
CDT: Central Daylight Time, UCT - 5 hours
MST: Mountain Standard Time, UCT - 7 hours
MDT: Mountain Daylight Time, UCT - 6 hours
PST: Pacific Standard Time, UCT - 8 hours
PDT: Pacific Daylight Time, UCT - 7 hours
AKST: Alaska Standard Time, UCT - 9 hours
AKDT: Alaska Daylight Time, UCT - 8 hours
ALST: Aleution Standard Time, UCT - 10 hours
ALDT: Aleution Daylight Time, UCT - 9 hours
HIST: Hawaii Time, UCT - 10 hours
MPST: Northern Marianas Time, UCT + 10 hours
m: midnight
a: AM
p: PM

 
 


  2007 Off Year Election Home  
 
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
 
2007 Election Dates:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
Poll Closing Times:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
....
  Governors     Senate     House  
....
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
....
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance  
....
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
....
  2007 Partisan Composition by State  
....
  Political Parties  
....
  Senate Electoral Classes  
....
  Statewide Political Party Strength  


The Green Papers Home