The Green Papers: 2006 Midterm Election

Copyright www.flags.net/UNST.htm 2006 Primary and Runoff Elections
Chronologically
Tuesday 7 March 2006Texas - Primary
Tuesday 21 March 2006Illinois - Primary
Tuesday 11 April 2006Texas - Runoff - Senate (D), Lt Gov. (D), CD 10 (D), CD 30 (R)
California - Special Primary House CD 50
Tuesday 2 May 2006Indiana - Primary
North Carolina - First Primary
Ohio - Primary
Tuesday 9 May 2006Nebraska - Primary
West Virginia - Primary
Tuesday 16 May 2006Kentucky - Primary
Oregon - Primary
Pennsylvania - Primary
Tuesday 23 May 2006Arkansas - Primary
Idaho - Primary
Tuesday 30 May 2006North Carolina - Second Primary (Runoff) (cancelled)
Tuesday 6 June 2006Alabama - Primary
California - Primary / Special Election CD 50
Iowa - Primary
Mississippi - Primary
Montana - Primary
New Jersey - Primary / Special Primary CD 13
New Mexico - Primary
South Dakota - Primary
Tuesday 13 June 2006Maine - Primary
North Dakota - Primary
South Carolina - Primary
Virginia - Primary
Arkansas - Runoff for Lt. Gov. (D), Attorney General (D), and Treasurer (D)
Tuesday 20 June 2006South Dakota - Secondary Election (cancelled)
Tuesday 27 June 2006Alabama - Runoff (cancelled)
Mississippi - Primary Runoff for Dem. Senate and Dem. CD 1
South Carolina - Runoff for Lt. Gov (R), Treasurer (R), CD 1 (D)
Utah - Primary
Tuesday 18 July 2006Georgia - Primary
Alabama - Runoff (revised date) for Rep. Lt. Gov. and Rep. Auditor
Tuesday 25 July 2006Oklahoma - Primary
Tuesday 1 August 2006Kansas - Primary
Thursday 3 August 2006Tennessee - Primary
Tuesday 8 August 2006Colorado - Primary
Connecticut - Primary
Georgia - Runoff: Lt. Gov (D); Secretary of State (D,R); Comm of Agr (R); CD 4 (D)
Michigan - Primary
Missouri - Primary
Tuesday 15 August 2006Nevada - Primary
Tuesday 22 August 2006Alaska - Primary
Oklahoma - Runoff - Lt. Gov. (D, R); CD 5 (R)
Wyoming - Primary
Saturday 2 September 2006Guam - Primary
Tuesday 5 September 2006Florida - Primary
Saturday 9 September 2006Virgin Islands - Primary
Tuesday 12 September 2006Arizona - Primary
Delaware - Primary
District of Columbia - Primary
Maryland - Primary
Minnesota - Primary
New Hampshire - Primary
New York - Primary
Rhode Island - Primary
Vermont - Primary
Wisconsin - Primary
Thursday 14 September 2006Ohio - Special Republican Primary House CD 18
Friday 15 September 2006Ohio - Special Democratic Primary House CD 3
Tuesday 19 September 2006Massachusetts - Primary
Washington - Primary
Saturday 23 September 2006Hawaii - Primary
Saturday 30 September 2006Louisiana - Open Primary (Special Election) Secretary of State and Commissioner of Insurance
Tuesday 7 November 2006Alabama - General Election
Alaska - General Election
American Samoa - General Election
Arizona - General Election
Arkansas - General Election
California - General Election
Colorado - General Election
Connecticut - General Election
Delaware - General Election
District of Columbia - General Election
Florida - General Election
Georgia - General Election
Hawaii - General Election
Idaho - General Election
Illinois - General Election
Indiana - General Election
Iowa - General Election
Kansas - General Election
Kentucky - General Election
Louisiana - General Election (Open Primary: Congress/Runoff: SoS)
Maine - General Election
Maryland - General Election
Massachusetts - General Election
Rhode Island - General Election
Michigan - General Election
Minnesota - General Election
Mississippi - General Election
Missouri - General Election
Montana - General Election
Nebraska - General Election
Nevada - General Election
New Hampshire - General Election
New Jersey - General Election / Special Election CD 13
New Mexico - General Election
New York - General Election
North Carolina - General Election
North Dakota - General Election
Ohio - General Election
Oklahoma - General Election
Oregon - General Election
Pennsylvania - General Election
South Carolina - General Election
South Dakota - General Election
Tennessee - General Election
Texas - General Election / Nonpartisan Primary CDs 15, 21, 23, 25, 28 / Special Election CD 22
Utah - General Election
Vermont - General Election
Virgin Islands - General Election
Virginia - General Election
Washington - General Election
West Virginia - General Election
Wisconsin - General Election
Wyoming - General Election
Guam - General Election
Tuesday 21 November 2006Virgin Islands - Runoff election for Governor
Tuesday 21 November 2006 (tentative date)Guam - Gubernatorial Runoff (pending court ruling) (cancelled)
Tuesday 5 December 2006Georgia - General Election Runoff (no Federal or Statewide runoffs)
Saturday 9 December 2006Louisiana - Congressional Run-Off/Tie House CD 2
Tuesday 12 December 2006Texas - Nonpartisan Runoff House CD 23
(no activity)Northern Marianas
Puerto Rico
 


  2006 Midterm Election Home  
 
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
 
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
 
2006 Election Dates:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
Poll Closing Times:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
....
  Governors     Senate     House  
....
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
....
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
....
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
....
  2006 Partisan Composition by State  
  2006 Political Party Breakdown by State - "Traditional" Sections and Regions  
....
  Political Parties  
....
  Senate Electoral Classes  
....
  Statewide Political Party Strength  


The Green Papers Home