The Green Papers: American Samoa 2006 Midterm Election
Flag images courtesy of The World Flag Database. Copyright American Samoa
Elections for Statewide offices and Congress
General Election: Tuesday 7 November 2006
2002-2010 Representatives:0(0.00% of 435)
Estimated Voting age population (November 2000): 
Capital:Fagatogo (formerly "Pago Pago")

  Alabama    Alaska    American Samoa    Arizona    Arkansas    California    Colorado    Connecticut    Delaware    District of Columbia    Florida    Georgia    Guam    Hawaii    Idaho    Illinois    Indiana    Iowa    Kansas    Kentucky    Louisiana    Maine    Maryland    Massachusetts    Michigan    Minnesota    Mississippi    Missouri    Montana    Nebraska    Nevada    New Hampshire    New Jersey    New Mexico    New York    North Carolina    North Dakota    Northern Marianas    Ohio    Oklahoma    Oregon    Pennsylvania    Puerto Rico    Rhode Island    South Carolina    South Dakota    Tennessee    Texas    Utah    Vermont    Virgin Islands    Virginia    Washington    West Virginia    Wisconsin    Wyoming 

American Samoa State and Local Government

Political parties are not officially utilized in elections in American Samoa.


Governor  4 year term, Election Cycle: 2004, 2008. Term Limit: Two consecutive terms. Territorial Governor

  Democratic Governor Togiola T.A. Tulafono
Acting Goveror: 2003 (remaining officially Lieutenant Governor after the death of Governor Tauese Sunia on 26 March 2003). First elected to a full term: 2004.
Lt. Governor Ipulasi Aitofele Sunia
Seat up for election: Tuesday 4 November 2008
The current Governor is unaffected by the State's term limit.
 The current Administration informally identifies itself with the US Democrats. The major opponents to the Sunia/Tulafono ticket in both 1996 and 2000 and to the Tulafono/Sunia ticket in 2004 identified themselves as "Independent" although they have ties to the US Republican Party.

Delegate to the House of Representatives  2 year term, Election Cycle: 2004, 2006. Elections in American Samoa are officially non-partisan.

Seat up for election
Democratic Territorial Delegate Eni F.H. Faleomavaega
• Re-elected Tuesday 7 November 2006
First elected: 1988; re-elected 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004
Seat up for election: Tuesday 7 November 2006
  Elected Nonpartisan; (Democratic) 5,195 47.09% Territorial Delegate Eni F.H. Faleomavaega
FEC: $42,587
  Candidate Nonpartisan; (Republican) 4,493 40.72% Aumua Amata (Amata Coleman Radewagen) Coleman
FEC: $13,990
  Candidate Nonpartisan; (Independent) 1,345 12.19% Muavaefaatasi Ae Ae, Jr.
FEC finanical report not available
Total 11,033 100.00%  

Political Parties    Parties appear in parenthesis and italics when a candidate receives the endorsement of a given Party and/or official sources indicate a candidate's association with a particular Party but only where the Party in question does not appear on the actual ballot as such.

Major Parties
  Democratic (affiliates): 2 incumbents, 1 candidate
  Republican: 1 candidate
  Independent: 1 candidate
  Nonpartisan: 3 candidates
Candidates running under the banner of more than one party are counted towards each party's total. A candidate who has lost a primary or is apparently no longer a candidate is not counted.


Candidates for office appear on this page in italics where 'The Green Papers' does not yet have independent confirmation from an election authority that this candidate is actually on the ballot.
FEC indicates the Federal Election Commission (FEC) Campaign Finance Summary "Total Receipts" for candidates for Federal Office.


  2006 Midterm Election Home  
  U.S. Senate Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Gubernatorial Popular Vote by Party  
  U.S. House Popular Vote and FEC Total Receipts by Party  
  Close Contests Summary - Decision by 2% or less  
  Contests Where No Candidate Received a Majority  
  Contests to Watch and Polling Data  
2006 Election Dates:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
Poll Closing Times:   Chronologically   --   Alphabetically  
  Governors     Senate     House  
  Senators by 'Class'  
  Governors by election 'cycle'  
  Gubernatorial Primaries at a Glance   --   Senatorial Primaries at a Glance  
  Open Governor's Chairs, Senate and House Seats (the incumbent is not running for re-election)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with no incumbent running for them  
  Uncontested Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats (one candidate running for office)  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with multiple incumbents running for them  
  Governor's Chairs, Senate, and U.S. House Seats with only one major party candidate running for office  
  2006 Partisan Composition by State  
  2006 Political Party Breakdown by State - "Traditional" Sections and Regions  
  Political Parties  
  Senate Electoral Classes  
  Statewide Political Party Strength